I heart learning

This week I completed my Masters degree! When I graduate it will be with a M Ed (Information and Communication Technologies in Learning). Wow, that’s a long winded degree.

It felt so good to submit that last assignment and even better to finish with a bang and receive a High Distinction. It has been a hard slog but well worth it. My writing has improved and I have a greater respect and appreciation for the importance of academic reading in my professional life. I am excited to think about what I can do next to continue my learning….. I’d like to use my blog more to reflect on my professional practice and development and I want to pursue my interest in technology and learning.

I’d love to map out a plan for creating the ideal 21st century school library & learning space. There’s so many exciting things happening with technology and library design and I want to jump in and explore them!

Last week I attended the Australian School Library Association’s 2009 conference in Perth. There were some inspiring keynote speakers who fed my hunger for Library 2.0 inspiration. Dr Sherman Young, from Macquarie University provoked us with his predictions of the demise of the printed book. I am now reading The Book is Dead and will report back on this when I’m finished!

Dr Michael Stephens inspired us to explore, engage and celebrate the Hyperlinked School Library and gave us a glimpse of the future that is here and now in Tech Trends. I am excited to explore all the resources and links he provided us.

IMG_4604

It was also wonderful to Tweetup with like-minded library friends…@katemreid, @kalgrl, @victorjd, @franlhughes and others. It is so fun to put faces to names and make connections. I loved it!

IMG_4594

IMG_4600I was fortunate to meet up with some great aussie authors and illustrators. We visited the Fremantle Children’s Literatures Centre, a wonderful resource and service to the Australian community, where we were entertained and entranced by Jan Ormerod reading her book Molly and her Dad. Jan’s art work for her book the Water Witcher was also featured in an exhibition at the centre. What a thrill to meet and talk with such a lovely and talented lady! At the authors breakfast  at Frasers in the Botanic Gardens I sat next to the very talented author Norman Jorgensen. I love his book In Flanders Fields, a thought provoking picture book about World War 2.

Delegates from the ASLA2009 conference have shared many photos on Flickr.

I will enjoy exploring and reflecting on all the links and information I’ve gathered from this conference!

One Comment

  1. Hi Leanne! Congratulations on your brand new degree!! Oh the relief of submitting that last file, and finally being able to toss notes, shelve books, and bin the post-its!
    It was great meeting up with you too – you can be sure that our tweets will be a large part of my report to my library colleagues on Friday :)

    Lunch is over and book rep beckons – I’ll be back soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

